Support the SJU Writing Series – Dr. April Lindner Reads From Her New Book LOVE, Lucy

april

Dr. April Lindner

love lucy best cover

 

 

 

 

The very talented Dr. April Lindner, Professor of English here at SJU, will read from her new novel LOVE, Lucy on Tuesday, February 24, 2015 during Free Period at the Library.  Read on for a brief description of the book, as well as the terrific reviews the book has received.

 

 

 

 

I could just disappear–lose myself in Florence.

The thought gave Lucy a delicious little shiver.

She could go anywhere, pick a new name for herself, become a whole new person.

She could learn Italian, apply for a job in a cafe, and never go home again.

I could be whoever I want to be.

While backpacking through Florence, Italy, during the summer before she heads off to college, Lucy Sommersworth finds herself falling in love with the culture, the architecture, the food…and Jesse Palladino, a handsome street musician.  After a whirlwind romance, Lucy returns home, determined to move on from her “vacation flirtation.”  But just because summer is over doesn’t mean Lucy and Jesse are over too.

In this coming of age romance, due out in January 2015, April Lindner perfectly captures the highs and lows of a summer love that might just be meant to last beyond the season.

 Reviews

“April Lindner brings on the feels with her usual charm. Love, Lucy is another romantic winner from this amazingly talented writer.”—Meg Cabot, author of The Princess Diaries and the Heather Wells mystery series

Love, Lucy hits all the right notes…This is a great coming-of-age story, perfect for Sarah Dessen fans or those who enjoy books with a summer romance.”—VOYA (starred review)

“A contemporary romance with surprising depth in its coming-of-age elements, this modern update of E. M. Forster’s A Room with a View will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Lindner’s reimagined classics.”—SLJ

“This intelligent love story will resonate with readers who are themselves balancing the thin line between making lives of their own and seeking parents’ approval. A good read-alike recommendation for fans of Jennifer E. Smith or Stephanie Perkins.”—Booklist

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *