The Public Safety and Security Office is located in Barbelin/Lonergan, Room 13. The department reports to the Vice President of Administrative Services, and consists of a Director, Assistant Director Operations, Assistant Director Administration, Public Safety Investigator, 3 Shift Patrol Managers, 6 Patrol Supervisors, 76 Officers, 10 of which are on bicycle patrol, 72 Residence Hall Attendants, 16 Gate Attendants and 19 Shuttle/BusVan drivers.

Our department is concerned primarily with maintaining the highest level of security possible on the University’s campus and within the University’s facilities. The University’s security officers are not police officers and they do not carry firearms; any criminal investigations are conducted by the Philadelphia Police Department or the Lower Merion Police Department which are responsible for coverage at Saint Joseph’s University.

Because the safety and security of the University is the shared responsibility of all who live, work and study on the campus, members of the University community are encouraged and expected to use common sense where personal safety is concerned and to report any suspicious or criminal activities to the Department of Public Safety at 660-1111. Emergency phones are located throughout the campus both inside and outside of campus buildings. Dialing is not required on these phones. When the receiver is lifted or the button is pushed the phone automatically calls Public Safety.

Department of Public Safety Administrators

 

Name Position Phone Email
Arthur Grover Director 610-660-1164 agrover@sju.edu
Michael Boykin Assistant Director of Administration 610-660-3372 mboykin@sju.edu
Mark Lemon Assistant Director of Operations 610-660-1161 mlemon@sju.edu
Martin Havira Investigator 610-660-1110 mhavira@sju.edu

 

Name Position Email Shift
Teresa Stewart Captain tstewart@sju.edu 7am to 3pm shift
Jennifer Portalatin Lieutenant jportala@sju.edu 7am to 3pm shift
Francis Walsh Lieutenant fwalsh@sju.edu 7am to 3pm shift
Tim Trucksess Lieutenant ttruckse@sju.edu 3pm to 11pm shift
Stacy McLean Lieutenant smclean@sju.edu 3pm to 11pm shift
Darrell Stewart Captain dstewart@sju.edu 11pm to 7am shift
Katarsha Saunders Lieutenant ksaunder@sju.edu 11pm to 7am shift
Sharina Jackson Lieutenant sjacks01@sju.edu 11pm to 7am shift