The Philadelphia City 6 Extramural Classic invites intramural champions from four team sports (flag football, volleyball, basketball, and softball) to compete in three separate divisions (men’s, women’s, and co-rec). The City 6 is composed of Drexel University, LaSalle University, Saint Joseph’s University, Temple University, University of Pennsylvania, and Villanova University. In most cases, intramural champions are invited to participate, depending upon eligibility and league schedules. Each tournament is administered and conducted under the guidelines set by the City 6 committee.

The City 6 was initiated in 1986 by representatives from Temple University and Saint Joseph’s University. The first tournament was held in Fall of 1986 at Franklin Field on the University of Pennsylvania Campus. Since that time, participants have competed at locations such as DuPont Pavilion, the Palestra, Villanova Stadium, Hayman Hall, and Saint Joseph’s Alumni Memorial Fieldhouse. The City 6 is considered one of the most comprehensive extramural programs in the nation. It has been a presentation topic at regional and national conferences and has served as a model for similar programs.

The philosophy of the City 6 Extramural Classic is based upon three goals:

  1. The promotion of recreational sports on college campuses.
  2. The provision of extramural competition and social interaction between participating schools.
  3. The establishment of an avenue by which teams can exhibit good sportsmanship while competing against top intramural talent from area schools.

During the past few years, the City 6 Committee has worked diligently to provide an arena for the realization of this philosophy. It is the responsibility of every participant to recognize the importance of these goals and compete/participate under such a premise. Enjoying oneself id the goal, but not at the expense of others.

For further information on how you and your team may qualify for the City 6 activities, contact the Office of Recreation and Intramurals.