Dr. Reed’s Remarks on the President’s Council Meeting about Inclusion and Diversity

Display problems? View this newsletter in your browser.

Saint Joseph's University

TO: University Community

FROM: Mark C. Reed, Ed.D., President

RE: President’s Council on Inclusion and Diversity

This week I joined the President’s Council on Inclusion and Diversity for its first meeting, during which I shared with the council its charge to advise me and other University leaders on critical issues, to recommend initiatives, policies, and practices to enhance our inclusion efforts, and to coordinate existing inclusion initiatives with the Assistant Provost for Inclusion and Diversity.

The creation of this council could not come at a more important time, as we engage in a strategic planning process that will chart the University’s path forward. The council will work with the Strategic Planning Steering Committee and will also lead an assessment of the campus climate. From this, they will develop a blueprint for integration of inclusive excellence into all aspects of the University as we continue to foster a culture of collaboration.

I want to state clearly that the work of the council is actually the work of the entire University. We must all commit ourselves to the complex and ongoing work of facilitating critical thinking and engaged citizenship, of caring for the whole person, and of pursuing justice. Given a national and global backdrop of deep political and social divisiveness, unrest and violence, the University’s mission statement must be more than words. Our mission calls us to be honest and courageous in creating a more just, sustainable and humane world.

Thank you to the members of the President’s Council on Inclusion and Diversity, listed below, for their leadership and commitment:

Monica Nixon, Ed.D., Chair, Assistant Provost for Inclusion and Diversity
Ashley Archer, Residence Hall Manager
Janée Burkhalter, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Marketing
Sharon Eisenmann, Vice President for Human Resources
Rob Focht ’19, English major
Beth Ford McNamee, Assistant Director of Campus Ministry
Tyler Jackson ’18, Political Science major
Melissa Logue, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Bob McBride, Associate Provost for Enrollment Management
John Neiva de Figueiredo, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Management
Becki Scola, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Chair of Political Science
Napoleon Stephenson’18, Business Administration major
Sumera Syed ’17, Business Intelligence and Analytics major
Niki Van Aller ’17, English major