Old Mars - It's What We're Reading


April
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Old Mars
George R.R. Martin, Gardner Dozois, Michael Moorcock and Joe R. Lansdale, editors

In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, and Edgar Rice Burroughs, Old Mars conjurers up the old-style adventure storytelling of going to and discovering the mysteries of Mars. The book is an anthology of stories about Mars, Martians, and the Human equation. Old Mars is reminiscent of The Martian Chronicles and is a tip of the hat to the preceding ages of literary science fiction.

Each story, told with a contemporary twist, adheres to the mystery and wonder that inspired the early authors to write about the red planet. Many of these new stories pay homage to their predecessors, respecting the mythos while simultaneously acknowledging our current understanding of the planet based on our state-of-the-art scientific study of Mars today.

Old Mars prompts its readers to consider just how much of what we know about the planet today will change in the years to come as we learn more about it. The stories in Old Mars are a combination of enjoyable, old-fashioned science fiction fantasy tempered with a contemporary mindset. Readers can immerse themselves in a world of infinite probabilities and improbabilities all the while asking the tantalizing question of: what if?

This book can be found on the First Floor of the Library in the Popular Reading section.