HSB Hall of Fame Recipient 2010

Since 1988, the Erivan K. Haub family has supported business education at Saint Joseph’s University. The family’s generosity has given Saint Joseph’s access to resources for dramatic improvements to the business curriculum as well as physical expansion. “The Haub family’s generosity has been transformational for Saint Joseph’s,” says University President Timothy R. Lannon, S.J. “The entire Saint Joseph’s community is deeply grateful to the Haubs for their longtime support and friendship.”

The most notable change in business education at Saint Joseph’s came in 1997 when the College of Business and Administration received a gift from the Haub family to name the school. The Erivan K. Haub School of Business quickly grew to be the largest undergraduate Jesuit business school in the United States as well as one of the leading providers of graduate business education in Philadelphia. “We have experienced dynamic change over the past decade, enhancing the Haub School’s reputation as a leader in quality business education,” says Joseph A. DiAngelo Jr., Ed.D. ’70, Dean of the HSB. “We are grateful to the Haub family’s support and partnership for making this growth possible.”

The Erivan K. Haub family owns the Tengelmann Group, one of Germany’s largest food retailers and A&P, a Montvale, N.J. – based supermarket chain.

At the helm of the family, Erivan and Helga have received international recognition for  their extraordinary acts. Most recently, Erivan was chosen as the first recipient of the International Earth Day Award for his environmental and sustainable development work. In 2004, he was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross 1st Class of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for his work as an entrepreneur and for engaging himself in an exceptional way for his fellow-beings, culture, charity and above all for the protection of the environment. In recognition of her economic and philanthropic contributions, Helga has been awarded the: Medal of Merit, United Air Force in Europe, Department of the Air Force; Spirit of Hope Award, U.S.O. World; Distinguished Public Service Medal, United States Department of Defense.