What is a Community Standards Advisor?

At any time during the Community Standards process, the respondent or complainant may consult with an advisor from the University community. An advisor is a member of the University community who a student is permitted to consult with throughout the process, including accompanying the student to meetings/hearings within the Community Standards process.

The choice whether or not to invite an advisor is solely that of the respondent or complainant involved.

An advisor serves to guide the individual through the disciplinary process. At any stage of the disciplinary process, the individual may seek advice from the advisor, and the advisor may give advice to that individual. However, the advisor may not speak for that individual or otherwise direct questions to or address others present in any disciplinary process meeting/hearing (e.g., the opposing party, witnesses, and/or the person conducting the meeting/hearing (university official). An advisor cannot serve in a different role during the disciplinary process (e.g., witness).

The University may remove or dismiss an advisor who becomes disruptive or who does not abide by the restrictions on participation, as determined by the person conducting the meeting/hearing (university official).

An advisor may take notes, but is not permitted to inspect, read, copy, photograph, or transcribe any documents or data at any stage of the disciplinary process. While an advisor’s schedule is not determinative, reasonable efforts will be made to accommodate the advisor. Problems with an advisor’s schedule will not delay a meeting/hearing.
Non-University advisors, including family members or legal counsel, are not allowed to serve as advisors, inspect hearing records during the Community Standards process, or attend the meeting/hearing. The advisor may be someone who holds a J.D., so long as the person holding the J.D. is not then engaged in the active practice of law and discloses and affirms these circumstances to the Office of Community Standards prior to attending any meetings/hearings in this capacity with the advisee party. The Office of Community Standards has the final determination as to who may serve as an advisor.

A list of Trained Advisors is available below and in the Office of Community Standards (Campion 243). A complainant or respondent may choose one of these Trained Advisors to serve as an advisor, or may select any other person from inside the University community to serve as an advisor.

Trained Community Standards Advisors:

Name Department Office Location Office Phone Email
Beth Hagovsky Student Life Campion 308 (610) 660-1072 bhagovsk@sju.edu
Dan McDevitt Student Success Bellarmine G06 (610) 660-2956 dmcdevit@sju.edu
Angie Nagle Campus Recreation O’Pake (610) 660-2583 anagle@sju.edu
Chris Mecke Disability Services Bellarmine G10 (610) 660-1774 cmecke@sju.edu
Natalie Walker-Brown Inclusion and Diversity Campion 213 (610) 660-1147 nwalker@sju.edu
Lisa Hansinger Career Development Career Development Center (610) 660-3098 ehansing@sju.edu
Lauren Fiori Student Success Bellarmine G07 (610) 660-1105 lfiori@sju.edu
Patty Martin Government and Community Relations Bala Place (610) 660-1935 pmartin@sju.edu
Ashley Lillie Residence Life Lannon (610) 660-1480 alillie@sju.edu
Elizabeth Ali Residence Life LaFarge (610) 660-1941 eali@sju.edu
Courtney LaGanke Residence Life Merion Gardens (610) 747-4153 claganke@sju.edu
Jessica Brown Residence Life Villiger (610) 747-4795 jbrown1@sju.edu
Jessica Moran Buckridge Residence Life LaFarge (610) 660-1064 jmoran@sju.edu
Kelly Bersett Residence Life LaFarge (610) 660-1061 kbersett@sju.edu
Sarah Smith Residence Life LaFarge (610) 660-1463 ssmith01@sju.edu
Shawn Washart Residence Life McShain (610) 660-1388 swashart@sju.edu

Office of Community Standards Staff:

William S. Bordak Director of Community Standards Campion 243 (610) 660-1046 wbordak@sju.edu
Emily Forte Assistant Director of Community Standards Campion 243 (610) 660-1046 eforte@sju.edu

NOTE: The information included on this webpage does not replace information published within the Student Handbook. For more complete information, please reference the Student Handbook. Please refer to the Sexual Misconduct Policy, which includes the disciplinary process for alleged violations of this policy.