Spring Seminars

The Molly Chemical Society will host Mary Malloy ’14, Ph.D. Candidate, Boston University on Wednesday, March 27th at 3:35 p.m. in 400 SC.

Mary’s topic:  “Chemistry Imitiating Life:  Biomimetic Small-Molecue Catalysts Capable of Catalytic C-H Bond Activation”

April 17th:   Student Research Presentations I          400 SC   3:30 p.m.

April 24th:    Student Research Presentations 2        400 SC   3:30 p.m.

“Nanochemistry Spring 2019 Course”

Have an interest in nanotech?   Consider taking the new Chem Department’s new course being offered for the Spring 2019 semester on nanomaterials.

The course “Nanochemistry” will be taught by Dr. Niezgoda on Tuesdays/Thursdays at 12:30.   If you have any questions, you can reach Dr. Niezgoda at scott.niezgoda@sju.edu.

Congratulations Elise and Dave

Elise Brutschea’19 was awarded a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship from the Division of Organic Chemisty of the American Chemical Society; a competitive award based on the merits of students’ research proposals, academic records, faculty recommendations and their passion for laboratory science.  This fellowship provided financial support for Elise to carry out research this past summer at St. Joseph’s University along with a tour of Pfizer’s industrial campus in Groton, CT


David Deysher ’19 was awarded a four-year scholarship to medical school from the Air Force Health Professions Scholarship Program.   While on scholarship, Dave will spend 45 days on active duty in the Air Force, and after graduation will serve four years of active duty, one for each year of scholarship.





The Saint Joseph’s University chapter of Alpha Epsilon Delta, the national pre-health honor society inducted the following six students:

Brandon Creisher         ChemBiology                                  Michael Feng     Chemistry                      Talia Gottlieb               ChemBiology

Emily Hunter                 ChemBiology                                  Erica Litle         Chemistry                      Maria Mazzochette       ChemBiology


Summer Scholars 2018

This past summer 13 Students participated in the Summer Scholar’s Program:

Dr. Forman:   Isabella Armento, Elise Brutschea,  Christina DeAngelo and Emily Schaeffer;  (Top Left)

Dr. Cerda:       Elizabeth DelRio, Ashley Frankfenfield, Michael Feng and Emily Hunter;   (Top Right)

Dr. Graham:   Brandon Jiannotti, Madelyn MacDonald and Steven Oldenburg;      (Bottom Left)

Dr. Niezgoda:    Erica Litle and Griffin Spence.     (Bottom Right).


Fall Semester Seminars

September 12th:     Bryan C. Eigenbrodt, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Villanova University        “Seeing is Believing

October 3rd:           Scott Laughlin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Stony Brook University              “Chemical Neurobiology”

October 24th:         Daniel J. Mindiola, Ph.D., Presidential Professor, University of Pennsylvania                   “Inorganic & Organometallic Synthesis”

All seminars will be held at 3:35 p.m. in Room 400 SC.



Welcome Aboard

The Chemistry Department welcomed Brian Lake in July as the new “Chemistry Resource Coordinator”

Brian’s office is located in Room 404 and he can be reached at blake@sju.edu or 610-660-1790.

SJU Chemistry Students Present at the American Chemical Society National Meeting in New Orleans

Chemistry research students Amanda Tallon, Linda Bui, Isabella Armento, Elise Butschea and Franco Baccardi presented posters summarizing their research and the activities of the Molly Chemical at the American Chemical Society (ACS) National Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana March 19-21, 2018.

All of these students worked with Dr. Forman during the summer of 2017 as Saint Joseph’s University Summer Scholars, a program that pairs students with a faculty advisor who supervises the work.   The students continued their research with Dr. Forman during the 2017-2018 academic year.  Also presenting at the ACS meeting was Ashley Frankenfield, who presented her research with Dr. Cerda.  Recent SJU Chemisty alumni/ae attending the meeting and stopping by the posters included Sean Vilanova (’11), Bob Carden (’14), Renee Kontos (’17) and Stephanie Schallemhammer (’17).

Th ACS meeting allowed these students to not only present the results of their research but to also spend time with some of the 18,000-plus students, professors, scientists and corporate representatives attending, providing invaluable networking opportunities.


The Office of Fellowships is pleased to announce  that Elise Brutschea, (Chemistry ’19),  been selected as a Barry M. Goldwater Scholar for the 2018-2019 academic year.

The Goldwater Scholarship, started in 1989 by Congress to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, is the most prestigious U.S. undergraduate scholarship in Math, Engineering and the Natural Sciences providing $7,500 in funding to sophomore and junior students who show academic promise and intend to pursue graduate research in STEM fields.  This year, only 211 Scholars were selected nationally out of 1,280 finalists nominated by their colleges and universities on the basis of their academic merits.




Chemistry Seminar Spring 2018 Schedule

Date                         Speaker and Title

Feb. 7                        P. Leslie Dutton, Ph.D. (Eldridge Reeves Johnson Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics; University of Pennsylvania)
McGroddy Frontiers in Science Seminar Series (Physics) (SC 300)

Mar. 21                    James Keller, Ph.D. (Thomas Jefferson University)
“Talk on Medical Physics” (SC 300)

Apr. 11                    Elizabeth Rhoades, Ph.D. (Department of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania)
McGroddy Frontiers in Science Series (Biology) (SC 200)

Apr. 18                   Student Research Presentations 1
(SC 400)

Apr. 25                 Student Research Presentations 2
(SC 400)

Enrolled Chemistry Seminar students are required to attend four seminars to earn a passing grade. Your attendance will be confirmed by your signature on the attendance sheets. It is your responsibility that you make sure to sign each attendance sheet.