National Science Foundation Awards SJU Scholarship Grant ~ Dr. Deborah Lurie

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded Saint Joseph’s University an S-STEM scholarship grant (DUE-1154161) in support of the project entitled “PACMACS Bridge Expansion Program.” The grant is to fund scholarships for academically talented students demonstrating financial need, preparing them to enter the workforce or graduate school in the fields of mathematics, actuarial science or computer science. This award is effective August 1 ,2012 and expires July 31, 2016.

For the current academic year, the grant is being used to provide a $10,000 scholarship each for six students:

Dr. Elaine Terry, Madeline Agatsiotis, Caraiah Stout, Joseph Sulieman, Jacob Kopinetz, Wesley Counts and Dr. Deborah Lurie

  • Wesley Counts ( actuarial science)
  • Jacob Kopinetz ( mathematics)
  • Elizabeth Mancini ( computer science)
  • Luke Myers ( computer science)
  • Caraiah Stout ( mathematics)
  • Joseph Sulieman (actuarial science)

The grant also provides additional support services such as faculty mentors, upper level undergraduate student mentors, career development information, and research opportunities. Seniors Madelaine Agastiosis and Robby Daley will serve as undergraduate mentors.

Contingent on the availability of funds and the progress of the project, NSF will provide additional funding next year. By the conclusion of the grant period in 2016, NSF is expected to have provided more than $595,000 in  support of the PACMACS Bridge Expansion Program.  Saint Joseph’s will also provide scholarship money. Together, NSF and SJU will enable four cohorts of six students to receive scholarships during their four years at Saint Joseph’s.

The program is directed by Dr. Deborah Lurie in collaboration with Dr. Susanna Wei, Dr. Elaine A. Terry, Dr. Sylvia J. Forman, Associate Dean Michael P. McCann and Ms. Maureen Mathis of the Office of Admission.


Dr. Konstantinos P. Nikoloutsos Receives Fellowship from Harvard

Dr. Konstantinos Nikoloutsos (Modern & Classical Languages) has been awarded the 2012-2013 Loeb Classical Library Foundation Fellowship from Harvard University. The Loeb is one of the most prestigious international, non-residential fellowships for classicists. The $4,000 grant will fund research he plans to do at the National Library of Buenos Aires next summer. The subject of Dr. Nikoloutsos’ research is an early 19th-century theatrical adaptation of Book 4 of Virgil’s Aeneid. The play is entitled Dido and is the first neoclassical tragedy written in Argentina and Latin America as a whole. Part of the project seeks to investigate the dissemination of Latin language and literature in South America by the Jesuits. The first results of his research will appear in the form of a chapter in his third edited volume, which has already been solicited for publication by two university presses. Dr. Nikoloutsos has been invited to give a talk on the subject, and chair a panel, at Yale University in November 2012.