A Team of Faculty That Helps You Succeed

The department's faculty have exhibited their work in prestigious galleries and published their writings around the globe. This diverse group of painters, ceramicists, photographers, sculptors and art historians are also dedicated teachers who challenge and inspire students to develop their self-expression and personal aesthetic. Small class sizes lend themselves to personalized attention and mentorship.

Emily Hage, PhD.

Associate Professor, Art History
Chair, Art Department

Specializes in 20th century European and American Art

ehage@sju.edu
610.660.1841

Erin Downey, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor, Art History

Specializes in Renaissance and Baroque Art

edowney@sju.edu
610.660.1840

Marta Sanchez, MFA

Adjunct professor of Art

Specializes in Painting and Drawing

msanchez@sju.edu
610.660.1840

Dennis McNally, S.J., Ph.D.

Professor of Art

Specializes in Painting, Drawing and Art History

 

dmcnally@sju.edu
610.660.1464

Jill Allen, MFA

Visiting Assistant Professor, Ceramics

Specializes in ceramics and sculpture

jallen@sju.edu
610.660.1840

 

Mary Henderson, MFA

Adjunct Professor of Art

Specializes in Painting and Drawing

mhenders@sju.edu
610.660.1840

Steve Cope, MFA

Assistant Professor of Art

Specializes in Painting and Drawing

 

scope@sju.edu
610.660.1487

Patrick Coughlin, MFA

Adjunct Professor of Art

Specializes in ceramics & sculpture

pcoughli@sju.edu
610.660.1840

 

Peter Bonner, MFA

Adjunct Professor of Art

Specializes in Painting and Drawing

pbonner@sju.edu
610.660.1840

Krista Svalbonas, MFA

Assistant Professor of Art

Specializes in Digital Photography

ksvalbon@sju.edu
610.660.1869

 

Jill Sherman, MFA

Adjunct Professor of Art

Specializes in Digital Photography

jsherman@sju.edu
610.660.1840

 

Julia Staples, MFA

Adjunct Professor of Art

Specializes in Digital and Darkroom Photography

jstaples@sju.edu
610.660.1840

Are you ready to find out how we can help you succeed?

Call or email Kathleen Vaccaro, the art department administrative assistant, to set up a tour of our facilities or to ask questions!

Innovation

Our faculty are cutting edge artists and historians.

Expertise

Our faculty are called upon to lecture and exhibit work around the world.

Excellence

Our faculty have received prized research grants and teaching excellence awards.

Get In Touch

We would love to hear from you!

p 610.660.1840
f 610.660.2278
kvaccaro@sju.edu