Campus Coffee Hour 9/26/14

What: Coffee Hour co-sponsored by Academic Affairs, Drexel Library, and Office of Mission and Identity
This is an opportunity for socializing in an informal get-together for students, staff, and faculty, to discuss campus events, scholarship, and anything that comes up.

“A small cup of coffee” by Julius Schorzman – Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons

When: September 26th, 9:30-10:30am

Where: Post Learning Commons, 2nd floor lounge

Who: All invited!

Melissa Chakars: The Socialist Way of Life in Siberia, 9/17/14

Chew On this logo

Melissa Chakars:
The Socialist Way of Life in Siberia


Chakars, professor of Russian history, explores the effects of socialism and modernization on the Buryats, a minority group of the Mongolian population. All invited!

When: September 17th, 12:30pm
Where: Wachterhauser Seminar Room 2nd Floor, Post Learning Commons

 

For more about our Chew on this Book series see our flyer.

The Devil in the White City – It’s What We’re Reading


September 2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

Cooked The Devil in the White City: murder, magic, and madness at the fair that changed America
Erik Larson

Two men were drawn to Chicago in the early 1890’s for the same reason—the World’s Columbian Exposition, better known as the World’s Fair. One man was the brilliant architect, Daniel Burnham, charged with building the White City, and the other Dr. H. H. Holmes, a vicious serial killer, preying on the single women who were flocking to the city for the myriad jobs that arose from this huge undertaking. While the buildings grew on the fairgrounds, women were disappearing only blocks away.

Erik Larson weaves together the two stories to create a tale of intrigue, magic, and mayhem. Only this is not a work of fiction, but of fact, which makes the book that much more chilling. The White City was an overwhelming success and an international sensation. However, in its shadow a predator lured his victims to his den of torture and death.

This book is available in the Library on the second floor. Call number is HV6248.M8 L37 2003.

Cooked – It’s What We’re Reading


August 2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

Cooked Cooked
Michael Pollan

Pollan explores the basics of cooking at its most ‘elemental. He learns how to make traditional barbecue (fire), make stocks and braise meat (water), bake bread (air), and ferment beer and sauerkraut (earth). His descriptions about the processes make you want to join in, which is facilitated by the inclusion of recipes in the back of the book. Building on his previous claims to “shop the perimeter of the grocery store” and “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants”, Pollan strips cooking down to the basics. It is a great read and keeps you entertained. The author’s regression to the basics is inspired by our culture’s most recent aversion to cooking from scratch. It is Pollan’s goal to encourage people to enjoy cooking and sharing a meal, thereby improving our daily lives.

This book can be found on the 1st floor, in the compact shelving.
Never used compact shelving before? See our help video.

Dangerous Women – It’s What We’re Reading


July
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Dangerous Women
George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

There is something for everyone in Dangerous Women, an anthology of 21 short stories each centered on one or more strong female characters. Many of the stories are science fiction or fantasy tales, as one would expect with George R.R. Martin as one of the editors. Well known authors penned many of the stories, and several are set in worlds that their authors created and developed in other books, including a story that is set in the world of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series, and one set in George R.R. Martin’s Westeros before the events in the Game of Thrones books take place. With the fantasy and science fiction genres so often filled with male characters, it was especially fun to see depictions of so many strong women. Reading the stories included in Dangerous Women was a good way to find new-to-me authors whose books I am now looking forward to reading.

The book can be found on the First Floor in the Popular Reading section.

Longbourn - It's What We're Reading


June
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Longbourn
Jo Baker

If you are lover of Pride and Prejudice and Downton Abbey, you cannot miss the novel, Longbourn by Jo Baker. The novel is the imagined day-to-day lives of the servants working for the Bennet family downstairs on the ground floor of Longbourn. Mrs. Hill has her hands full managing the staff of four that keeps the Bennet family well fed, in clean and mended clothes, and always with a cup of tea at hand. Mrs. Hill is joined by her husband, Mr. Hill, the butler, two orphan housemaids, Sarah and Polly, and a mysterious footman, James. At the heart of the novel is a budding romance between the orphan-turned-housemaid Sarah and James who seems to have a complicated past and strange connection to the Longbourn house.

The representation of the Bennet family is as you might expect, Jane is quiet and lovely, Elizabeth outspoken and smart, Lydia silly and loud, and Mrs. Bennet as the social climber and a bundle of nerves. Mr. Wickham seems a bit more wicked, and Mr. Collins is a little more sympathetic, although excruciatingly unappealing. The story is light, but it is always fun to see the Bennet family from another perspective.

The book can be found on the First Floor in the Popular Reading section.

The Monuments Men : Allied Heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History - It's What We're Reading


May
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 The Monuments Men : Allied heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History
Robert M. Edsel with Bret Witter

As WWII was winding down on the European continent, President Franklin D. Roosevelt established the Monuments, Fine Arts and Archives (MFAA) section of western Allied forces, otherwise known as “the Monuments Men”. Under the command of Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, a band of men and women, including some 200 Americans, was assigned to the task. Almost exclusively given the rank of officers, the mission of the Monuments Men was to protect and triage, where possible, the treasured art and architecture of France and Germany*.

Most held positions at esteemed museums in North America and all were recognized as knowledgeable persons in their respective fields, whether it be sculpting, architecture, restoration, etc. Each was assigned to a unit and often arrived on the scene right as a battle ended, sometimes even as artillery was still hot and smoking. Sometimes the Monuments Men arrived just as a valued structure had been reduced to rubble.

The author describes specific precious items stolen by the Nazis from their fellow Germans. Most of these thefts were from wealthy Jews, whose possessions often ended up warehoused in creative hiding places. The tale includes little biographical sketches of the main players on both sides, along with descriptive information of the numerous civilians who assisted in this great work. Not to minimize the large-scale loss of human life in this war, the author presents a most engaging and poignant read of the large scale stealing and destruction of this war and the humble heroics performed to save what was considered culturally important to Western Civilization. For anyone who has an appreciation of art and architecture, or has visited Europe, this book is a must-read!

*The author tackles a similar Monuments Men project in Italy in a separate book.

Currently, this book is on the Post Commons new book shelves (1st fl.) and also as an audiobook. (Drexel, 1st fl.)

Finals Week Events at the PAC

cherryblossomsFinals have you down? Anxious? In need of a break?
De-stress at the Post Academic Center during Finals Week!

Free 5 Minute Massages:
May 7th, 8th, and 9th, 8:00pm – 10:00pm

PAWS for a Study Break:
May 6th, 11:00am – 3:00pm

24/7 Hour Building Access:
May 6th – 13th
LIBRARY WILL CLOSE SATURDAY,
May 10th, at midnight, and
REOPEN at 9:00am SUNDAY.
Library will close at 7:30pm May 13th.

Old Mars - It's What We're Reading


April
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Old Mars
George R.R. Martin, Gardner Dozois, Michael Moorcock and Joe R. Lansdale, editors

In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, and Edgar Rice Burroughs, Old Mars conjurers up the old-style adventure storytelling of going to and discovering the mysteries of Mars. The book is an anthology of stories about Mars, Martians, and the Human equation. Old Mars is reminiscent of The Martian Chronicles and is a tip of the hat to the preceding ages of literary science fiction.

Each story, told with a contemporary twist, adheres to the mystery and wonder that inspired the early authors to write about the red planet. Many of these new stories pay homage to their predecessors, respecting the mythos while simultaneously acknowledging our current understanding of the planet based on our state-of-the-art scientific study of Mars today.

Old Mars prompts its readers to consider just how much of what we know about the planet today will change in the years to come as we learn more about it. The stories in Old Mars are a combination of enjoyable, old-fashioned science fiction fantasy tempered with a contemporary mindset. Readers can immerse themselves in a world of infinite probabilities and improbabilities all the while asking the tantalizing question of: what if?

This book can be found on the First Floor of the Library in the Popular Reading section.

Saint Josephs University